What day did the first spongebob episode air?

The first 'SpongeBob' episode aired on Nickelodeon Saturday, May 1, 1999. The show was created by former marine biologist and animator Stephen Hillenburg. 'Sponge Bob Square Pants' is Nickelodeon’s longest running show, spanning 14 and a half years and reaching millions worldwide.