What is the exercise crunches?

The crunch is a popular core exercise targeting the rectus abdominis, or "six-pack" muscles, as well as the obliques. It has been the centerpiece of many ab-focused workouts, due to both its simplicity and the intense burn and mind-muscle connection it produces