What makes carbon dioxide?

Carbon dioxide is composed of one carbon atom covalently bonded to two oxygen atoms. It is a gas (at standard temperature and pressure) that is exhaled by animals and utilized by plants during photosynthesis. Carbon dioxide is a chemical compound composed of two oxygen atoms and one carbon atom.