How are goosebumps made?

Goosebumps are a vestige of our hairy past. They're caused by tiny muscles under the skin trying to erect body hairs to shield us from the cold. Unlike some of our more hirsute relatives, we no longer have the hairs, but we still have the involuntary reflex.