What is beer blanc?

Beurre blanc, literally translated from French as "white butter", is a hot emulsified butter sauce in French cuisine made with a reduction of vinegar, and, or, white wine, normally Muscadet, and grey shallots into which softened butter is whisked in, off the heat, to prevent separation.