What animal is a martin?

Marten, (genus Martes), any of eight species of weasel-like carnivores of the genus Martes (family Mustelidae), found in Canada and parts of the United States and in the Old World from Europe to the Russian Far East, Taiwan, and the islands of Sumatra and Borneo.