What is malt vinegar?

Malt vinegar is a vinegar made from malted grains of barley. It has a tart flavor and can help enhance the flavors of other foods it is paired with. Malt vinegar is produced from the same grains that are used for making beer, and has a similar lemony, nutty, and caramel flavor profile as malted ale.