What is an example of assonance?

In poetry, assonance is the repetition of the sound of a vowel or diphthong in nonrhyming stressed syllables near enough to each other for the echo to be discernible. An example would be "She seemed to beam - rays of sunshine - from her eyes of green" where beam & green almost rhyme.