What happened at the u. s. embassy in baghdad?

On 31 December 2019, Kata'ib Hezbollah militiamen and their PMF supporters and sympathizers attacked the U.S. embassy in the Green Zone in response to U.S. airstrikes on 29 December 2019 that targeted weapons depots, command and control installations of Kata'ib Hezbollah across Iraq and Syria.