Who wrote the books outlander?

Diana Gabaldon wrote the Outlander book series starting with the first novel in 1991. She was born in Scottsdale Arizona in 1952. Her father was Mexican American and her mother of English ancestry. Before becoming a novelist, Gabaldon was an accomplished scientist with a PhD in behavioral ecology.