How long does it take to eat a meal?

For most people, it takes 10 to 30 minutes to eat a meal. Eating food too quickly may lead to weight gain and increase the risk of heart disease, diabetes, and stroke. The US is considered to have the shortest meal times at 1 hour or less. In France they may take as long as 2 or 3 hours.