How did the hindenburg blow up?

Electrostatic discharge ignited leaking hydrogen

---

The Hindenburg was leaking hydrogen and passed through an electrical storm, which charged the airship with static electricity. As the crew was tethering the ship, they essentially “grounded” the airship, causing the static electricity to discharge and ignite the hydrogen that led to the explosion.