What is ginger oil?

Ginger oil is extracted from the ginger rhizome after a distillation process. ... Ginger oil has a distinct aroma that can be described as strong, warm, or spicy. As such, it's often used for aromatherapy. Ginger oil can also be used in a variety of applications in the skin and hair