What is the purpose of jupiter?

Part of what makes the Earth such a nice place to live,the story goes,is that Jupiter's overbearing gravity acts as a gravitational shield deflecting incoming space junk,away from the inner solar system where it could do for us what an asteroid apparently did for the dinosaurs 65 million years ago