What is the cartridge?

A "cartridge" may be: 1) a container holding photographic film, ink, or other item or substance, designed for insertion into a mechanism; 2) a casing containing a charge and a bullet or shot, for a gun; or, 3) a component carrying the stylus on the pickup head of a phonograph.