What was the chinese japanese war?

The Second Sino-Japanese War was a military conflict that was primarily waged between the Republic of China and the Empire of Japan. The war made up the Chinese theater of the wider Pacific Theater of the Second World War, July 7, 1937 thru September 9,1945.