Who is mrs mala prop?

Mrs Malaprop was a character from Richard Brinsley Sheridan's 1775 play "The Rivals." She is the source of the word malapropism, which is when someone uses a word or phrase incorrectly or inappropriately, when he or she meant to use a similar sounding word or phrase.