What part of the lamb is a lamb shank?

The shank is the cut of lamb taken from the lower section of the animal's legs and can be from the front legs (foreshank) or the back legs (hind shank). The foreshank may include part of the shoulder, as well as part of the leg, while the hind shank will include only part of the rear leg.