How long does the a. c. t. test take?

The A C T is 3 hours long (technically 2 hours and 55 minutes). Including breaks, the exam takes 3 hours and 30 minutes to complete. If you sign up for the optional essay (the ACT Plus Writing ), the test clocks in at 3 hours and 40 minutes or just over 4 hours with breaks.