Who was the first one to land on mars?

The Soviet Union's Mars 3 probe achieved the first soft landing on Mars on 2 December 1971, but the probe failed just 20 seconds after landing. Two Viking probes from the United States achieved soft landings on Mars in July 1976. No human has yet set foot on Mars.