What is the sell by date on meat mean?

The Sell By date is an arbitrary date established by the store. If you buy meat on the sell by date you still have a few days to use it or freeze it before it may go bad, if properly stored. Some stores provide a freeze buy date. Some stores offer discounts for buying on or after sell by dates.