What is the history of the song hallelujah?

Leonard Cohen's song is about a love that has soured and gone stale. Cohen used religious imagery, with references to some notorious women in the bible. Cohen explained: "Hallelujah is a Hebrew word which means 'Glory to the Lord' and the song explains that many kinds of Hallelujahs do exist.