Why are people afraid of death?

People are afraid of death because nobody knows what it really is or whether or not there is anything after that.

---

The fear of death is fairly common & makes some sense. Often, people fear it because no 1 knows if anything happens afterward. Others R afraid of the emotional pain it causes loved ones. In some cases, fear of death may interfere with daily functioning N overall enjoyment of life, like a phobia