What is the song y. m. c. a. about?

Y.M.C.A. stands for "Young Men's Christian Association," commonly associated with the gyms that often provide temporary housing to men. The Village People sing about the YMCA as a place where you can hang out with all the boys. This information is found on songfacts.com