What does generic engineering mean?

Do you mean genetic engineering? Genetic engineering was introduced in the 1970s to describe a new field of recombinant DNA technology. Broadly it means taking pieces of some DNA and combining them with other pieces of DNA. It is done in a science laboratory. It is also called genetic modification.