Is a shield a weapon?

Yes, for most purposes a shield can be considered a weapon. Generally it's a defensive weapon, though the superheroes Captain America and the Guardian often use theirs offensively.

---

A shield can be used very effectively as a weapon. Just ask Captain Marvel!