What does m. a. c. h.?

"Mach" is the term for the speed of sound, which is 1100 feet per second. An object traveling faster than Mach 1 is said to "break the sound barrier." Some military aircraft, missiles, and other objects can exceed this speed, and travel at speeds of Mach X, where X is the multiple of sound speed.