How often does an eclipse happen?

Solar eclipses happen about 2 to 4 times per year, but the area on the ground covered in totality is only about 50 miles wide. In any given location on Earth, a total eclipse happens only once every hundred years or so, though for selected locations they can occur as little as a few years apart.