How do you take care of an amaryllis?

Snip off the flower stems about half an inch from the bulb. Place your plants on sunny windowsills so the leaves can gather light, photosynthesize, and provide nourishment to the bulbs. Keep watering your plants so the soil says lightly moist, but never soggy.

---

Remove spent flower stalks. Water and feed it, providing plenty of sun. Keep it moist but not wet. In late summer, stop the water. As it dries out, cut off the leaves and move to a dark dry place. In late Fall, bring it back into the light, and give it water as needed. The bloom cycle starts over.