How do you take care of an amaryllis?

Snip off the flower stems about half an inch from the bulb. Place your plants on sunny windowsills so the leaves can gather light, photosynthesize, and provide nourishment to the bulbs. Keep watering your plants so the soil says lightly moist, but never soggy.