What is pokemon generation eight?

Generation 8 of Pokémon has been announced and with it two new games and a whole new region to explore. Set in the picturesque region of Galar Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield will be latest RPG's available on the Nintendo Switch in the coming months.