When was direct deposit invented?

The DOD proposed electronic bank transfers to cut the cost of cutting millions of paychecks each month back in 1969. The program began in earnest in 1974, originally called Check to Bank. In 1977 it was renamed Check to Financial Organization and was extended to credit unions instead of just banks.