How far can a hummingbird fly?

The ruby-throated hummingbird flies 500 miles nonstop across the Gulf of Mexico during both its spring and fall migrations. It is a myth, however, that these tiny birds "ride" on the back of other birds during migration—they fly this distance completely on their own