Where was pac man invented?

The game was created by Namco in Japan, and released in the U.S. by Midway. By 1981, approximately 250 million games of Pac-Man were being played in the U.S. each week on 100,000 Pac-Man machines. Since then, Pac-Man has been released on nearly every video game platform.