What's the difference between rice vinegar and white wine vinegar?

White vinegar is made by fermenting grain alcohol, while rice vinegar is made from fermented rice. Rice vinegar is less tangy and acidic than white vinegar, with a subtle sweetness. White vinegar, in comparison, is more sharp and harsh and has a neutral flavor.