Who was samuel in the bible?

Samuel, in the narratives of the Hebrew Bible and Old Testament, plays a key role in the transition from the period of the biblical judges to the institution of a kingdom under Saul, and again in the transition from Saul to David. He is venerated as a prophet by Jews, Christians, and Muslims.