What smell repels ants?

Some scents that repel ants include mint - plant mint around perimeter of your home to repel many different insects. Vinegar - mix a 50/50 solution of vinegar and water in a spray bottle. Lemon Juice, Cinnamon, & Cayenne or Black Pepper also repel ants.