How long do you boil artichokes?

You boil artichokes for 20 to 40 minutes. Here's how: Place artichokes base side down in boiling water, lower heat to simmer and weight the tops of the artichokes with a dish or pot lid. Simmer the artichokes until the base can easily be pierced with a knife point