How many levels are there in super mario bros?

Super Mario Bros contains 8 worlds. Each world has 4 levels for a total of 32 levels with three warp zones. There is also a level -1 that you can get to from a bug at the end of the world 1,2 warp zone. The original Famicom version of the game contains two additional negative-numbered levels.