How do giraffes feed their babies?

Baby giraffes begin eating within the first hour of life. For the first four to six months, the babies drink milk from their mother. After that time, the babies begin eating leaves. If the babies cannot reach trees with available leaves, mothers will pull leaves off and feed them to the babies.