How does the moon turn red?

During a total lunar eclipse, the Earth lines up between the Moon and the Sun. The air molecules from Earth's atmosphere scatter out most of the blue light. The remaining light reflects onto the Moon's surface with a red glow, making the Moon appear red in the night sky.