What is the difference between table tennis and ping pong?

In table tennis only the serve has to hit the table on each side of the net, whereas in ping pong every shot has to hit the table on both sides of the net.

---

No major differences exist. The main difference between ping pong and table tennis is that table tennis is more competitive and serious than ping pong. People compete in clubs, leagues, tournaments, and cup competitions all over the world.