Is there such thing as a giant?

Acromegaly, or giantism, is a medical condition producing more growth hormone than typical, resulting in taller, larger people, such as André the Giant or Goliath the Philistine. Similar conditions are seen in other species. So yes, Giants do exist, although not as portrayed in fantasy fiction.