What is true freshman?

A true freshman is a college athlete who competes in games beginning in their freshman academic year. This is contrasted with a redshirt freshman, whose college athletic career doesn’t officially begin until he/she is a sophomore academically. On competitive teams, true freshmen are usually rare.