What is the definition of a paradox?

par·a·dox /ˈperəˌdäks/ a seemingly absurd or self-contradictory statement or proposition that when investigated or explained may prove to be well founded or true. "in a paradox, he has discovered that stepping back from his job has increased the rewards he gleans from it"