How many days does it take for a seventeen pound turkey to thaw?

The USDA recommends thawing your turkey in the refrigerator. This is the safest method because the turkey will thaw at a consistent, safe temperature. This method takes some time, so allow one day for each 4 - 5 pounds of weight. If your turkey weighs 17 pounds, it will take about four days to thaw.