What is a silver fish in minecraft?

Silverfish are small hostile mobs spawning infested blocks in mountains biomes, strongholds, igloo basements and woodland mansions false portal rooms. They can only spawn only in light level 11 or lower and cannot spawn within a 5 blocks of any player.