Do you capitalize the letter after a comma?

The word after a comma should only be capitalized if it would be capitalized without the comma, such as if it's a proper noun or the beginning of a sentence in a direct quote.

---

Semicolons and commas separate parts of a sentence, but they don't end the sentence like a period or exclamation point. Don't capitalize the next word as if it's the start of a new sentence.