How much does a mature male elephant weigh?

The average African elephant weighs between 5,000 to 14,000 lbs. (2,268 to 6,350 kilograms), according to the National Geographic. Male elephants can grow to be significantly larger than their female counterparts.

---

On average, the mature African bush elephant weighs in at around 14,000 pounds, which is 7 tons. Asian elephants are slightly smaller than their African counterparts. But they still weigh between 5,000 to 11,000 pounds.