What is a byte b. i. g. h. t.?

Bite, byte or bight. ... A byte is a unit of computer memory. One byte is usually eight bits and is processed as a single unit of data. A bight is the wide indentation in the shoreline of a river, ocean or other body of water. The middle, slack part of a rope is also called the bight.