What bad happened on september eleventh?

On September 11, 2001 about 3,000 people were killed in four coordinated terrorist attacks by the militant extremist network al-Qaeda. Planes hit the twin towers of the World Trade Center in New York, the Pentagon in Arlington, Virginia, and a 4th plane crashed in a field in Shanksville, PA.